Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

Age of Empires II-The Age of Kings-Caesar III

This is the place for general discussions - we are a family site - no bad language, no flames.
A Moderators word is final.

Age of Empires II-The Age of Kings-Caesar III

Unread postby chryssi2001 » October 14th, 2006, 5:11 am

Hope i post this in the correct forum.

Age of Empires II-The Age of Kings
I have the CD for this game and install it but it won't play even after full installation. When i click to play a Microsoft warning appears, and says that IE needs to close down, and sent report... that usual old warning.
My daughter used to play this game using my old computer which had windows 95. Now i got a new computer with windows xp pro.
After a little search i found specifications for Age of empires-The age of Kings, and says it can be used with windows 95 or 98.
Does this game need MS-DOS to run?
Is there any way i can make it work? :help:
Have checked in game icon properties and it has windows 95/98 and 2000.

Caesar III
This game can't even install now, but it was playing perfectly on my old computer. :crybaby:

Can anyone help please?
If not i will throw both CDs away instead of :banghead:
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Unread postby Vino Rosso » October 14th, 2006, 8:21 am

Hi chryssi2001

Have you tried the Program Compatibility Wizard?

This >M$ web site< can probably explain it better than me.
User avatar
Vino Rosso
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 9024
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 8:36 am
Location: Gloria Jean's in Murray St. Mall (I wish!)

Unread postby chryssi2001 » October 14th, 2006, 9:15 am

I just checked the site, tried all of the compatible versions for the game but still get the Microsoft warning. Wizard didn't help at all.
I did never register the game with Microsoft, do you think if i did, something would change?
This applies for Age of Empires II-Age of Kings.

As for Caesar III, when i put the CD, i can only see install but no icons or something in the window, so when i click install i get a window with:

AS HEADING OF THIS WINDOW: 16 bit Windows Subsystem.
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXE.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'close' to
terminate the appication.

I've changed from 32 bit to 16 bit, but get the same window warning.

That's why i believe is MS DOS problem.
Am i right that windows xp do use MS-DOS?
If yes probably these 2 games will never play on this computer.
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby chryssi2001 » October 14th, 2006, 9:18 am

I forgot to mention that the simular game Microsoft Age of Empires which i also have, and played with old computer, works fine. That's very strange!!
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby Vino Rosso » October 14th, 2006, 10:04 am

The idea of Compatibility is to get, from the program's point of view, XP to behave like an earlier version on Windows. If you've tried this without success, it may be the the program just won't work in the XP environment.
You may be better to raise this question at the XP forum or a forum that specialises in games.

For eaxmple: http://www.xpforum.co.uk/forums/gaming/
User avatar
Vino Rosso
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 9024
Joined: April 24th, 2006, 8:36 am
Location: Gloria Jean's in Murray St. Mall (I wish!)

Unread postby chryssi2001 » October 14th, 2006, 11:09 am

Ok Thanks. :)
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby shazam » January 31st, 2007, 12:27 am

try dosbox it work for ~80% of the game that r made to run on dos
User avatar
shazam
Regular Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 4:20 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1(GMT-5)

Unread postby shazam » January 31st, 2007, 12:33 am

sorry it not a dos game

try updating it http://www.microsoft.com/games/pc/age2.aspx


i have Age of Empires II®: The Conquerors Expansion and it work on xp so that game should work
User avatar
shazam
Regular Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 4:20 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1(GMT-5)

Unread postby chryssi2001 » January 31st, 2007, 2:05 am

Hi, thanks for the update link.
I have the game on a cd.
What shall i do to update it?
I hardly know about these stuff.
Install the game (partly) from the cd as i do when i want to play and then update?
Remember it doesn't play at all.
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby MMJ » January 31st, 2007, 6:17 am

chryssi2001 wrote:As for Caesar III, when i put the CD, i can only see install but no icons or something in the window, so when i click install i get a window with:

AS HEADING OF THIS WINDOW: 16 bit Windows Subsystem.
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXE.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'close' to
terminate the appication.

I've changed from 32 bit to 16 bit, but get the same window warning.


I once had an old xp system where 16 bit programs would not work on it. A format solved this. How long has your xp been on that comp?

How did you change from 32bit to 16bit?

chryssi2001 wrote:That's why i believe is MS DOS problem.
Am i right that windows xp do use MS-DOS?
If yes probably these 2 games will never play on this computer.


In what sense do you mean XP uses MS-DOS?

Those programs should be working. Right click on the exe file and click on compatibility. Did you try that?
MMJ
Regular Member
 
Posts: 977
Joined: October 5th, 2006, 12:18 pm

Unread postby chryssi2001 » January 31st, 2007, 7:37 am

How long has your xp been on that comp?

How did you change from 32bit to 16bit?

I bought the computer with XP installed.
I changed 32 to 16bit from desktop/properties/settings.

Those programs should be working. Right click on the exe file and click on compatibility. Did you try that?

Do you mean the cds? I've tried that with Age of Empires II and it shows windows95/98 and 2000. I don't remember if i checked for Caesar too.

I hav MSDOS on C drive but the folder is empty. 0 KB :roll:
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby MMJ » January 31st, 2007, 8:12 am

chryssi2001 wrote:I bought the computer with XP installed.
I changed 32 to 16bit from desktop/properties/settings.


Lmao, thats a good one! :D :lol:

What the program means is that it only runs on a 16bit cpu

Although it is true, most old games run on the 16bit display settings or less that has nothing to do with the message.

I found a fix for your problem, please let me know if it works.
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/16bit.htm

Do you mean the cds? I've tried that with Age of Empires II and it shows windows95/98 and 2000. I don't remember if i checked for Caesar too.


Did you run the compatibility wizard on them?
MMJ
Regular Member
 
Posts: 977
Joined: October 5th, 2006, 12:18 pm

Unread postby MMJ » January 31st, 2007, 8:13 am

MMJ wrote:
chryssi2001 wrote:I bought the computer with XP installed.
I changed 32 to 16bit from desktop/properties/settings.


Lmao, thats a good one! :D :lol:

What the program means is that it only runs on a 16bit cpu

Although it is true that most old games run on the 16bit display settings or less that has nothing to do with the message.

I found a fix for that problem, please let me know if it works.
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/16bit.htm

Do you mean the cds? I've tried that with Age of Empires II and it shows windows95/98 and 2000. I don't remember if i checked for Caesar too.


Did you run the compatibility wizard on them?
MMJ
Regular Member
 
Posts: 977
Joined: October 5th, 2006, 12:18 pm

Unread postby chryssi2001 » January 31st, 2007, 8:19 am

I found a fix for your problem, please let me know if it works.
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/16bit.htm

I will check the link and post back if i got good news. :)

Did you run the compatibility wizard on them?

I did but it didn't work. :(
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away

Unread postby chryssi2001 » January 31st, 2007, 8:35 am

I've tried to write all these
1st Method
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\config.nt_ c:\windows\system32\config.nt
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\command.co_ c:\windows\system32\command.com
exit
as per http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;324767
but the answer is

Destination is not a directory:Letter:\i386\config.nt_ c:\windows\system32\config.nt
for both 2 first lines, so i didn't try the 3rd one.
I do sometimes have a problem with the cd, when i start the computer it stucks at a certain point and the cd light is bleeping and i can see a black screen with too much stuff written and at the end it says as far as i can remember now....that it can't find a cd in the cd drive...something like that.
And i have to reboot to pass that screen.
I've talked to the guys i bought the computer from, but they have to see it to understand what it is they said. And it's not happening all the time. ;)
Should i try the 2nd method of the above link?
User avatar
chryssi2001
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 14395
Joined: September 24th, 2006, 2:11 am
Location: far away
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Next

Return to General Discussions



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware