Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

Upgraded windows 7 boot issue

Troubleshooting issues with software, including all version of Windows.

Upgraded windows 7 boot issue

Unread postby Bascotie » November 26th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Hi guys,

I was working on a computer that needed a new power supply (that's another story), but anyway, I went ahead and replaced it and everything is fine. I reset the bios and now Windows 7 will not boot. I tried using a windows 7 home premium disk to boot up (f8 repair option is gone) and run some bootrec commands which found 2 installations (windows.old and windows) both of which I have added.

If I try to boot from the 'old' installation, it boots up but never logs in.

If I try to boot from the CORRECT installation, it says "windows failed to load because the nls data is missing, or corrupt".

I tried going into the bios and changed IDE to AHCI and vice versa, thinking maybe setting the bios to default settings threw it off, but i get the same issue. Any ideas?
User avatar
Bascotie
Regular Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: January 27th, 2010, 8:37 pm
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Re: Upgraded windows 7 boot issue

Unread postby deltalima » November 27th, 2012, 5:57 pm

How did the power supply fail? If it died when the computer was in use there could have been a head crash that damaged to boot sector.

If you need to get up and running then probably the quickest way would be to reinstall Windows.
User avatar
deltalima
Admin/Teacher
Admin/Teacher
 
Posts: 7614
Joined: February 28th, 2009, 4:38 pm
Location: UK

Re: Upgraded windows 7 boot issue

Unread postby Bascotie » November 27th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Just ended up doing a windows reinstall. I tried a chkdisk, sfc scannow, manually copying the nls files (which got me past the windows logo and into a blue screen saying the software may have to be reinstalled).

I reformatted it and it's working now. the system was working fine, i had just swapped out the power supply after some random shutdowns that I believe I traced back to a 4pin connector being used in an 8pin connector cpu slot. thanks
User avatar
Bascotie
Regular Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: January 27th, 2010, 8:37 pm


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Software Support (including Windows)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware