Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Troubleshooting issues with software, including all version of Windows.

How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby Odd dude » October 11th, 2008, 7:38 am

Hi,

How do I set up my VM to use my wireless connection? Do I need to install the drivers for the wireless adapter or something? Right now it's just... not connecting at all.
User avatar
Odd dude
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: May 18th, 2008, 11:16 am
Location: The Netherlands (GMT +1)
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby random/random » October 11th, 2008, 8:19 am

What program are you using to run your VM?
User avatar
random/random
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 7731
Joined: December 18th, 2005, 3:30 pm

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby Odd dude » October 11th, 2008, 8:24 am

MS VPC 2007 SP1
User avatar
Odd dude
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: May 18th, 2008, 11:16 am
Location: The Netherlands (GMT +1)

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby random/random » October 11th, 2008, 8:32 am

Right click Virtual PC system tray icon>name of virtual PC>Settings>Networking> Set adapter 1 to your wireless adapter
User avatar
random/random
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 7731
Joined: December 18th, 2005, 3:30 pm

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby Odd dude » October 11th, 2008, 8:42 am

Did that - still no internet.
Could any of the following be the issue?

  • My wireless thingy is not Plug&Play - should I install the drivers on the VM?
  • Could my firewall (Comodo) be preventing succesful connection? (FYI, it's not asking me anything)
  • Could it be anything with the IP? (have had problems with that before)
  • The HJT log is not showing the typical O17 lines the host computer is showing - could that be the issue?

Appreciate your help a lot :)
User avatar
Odd dude
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: May 18th, 2008, 11:16 am
Location: The Netherlands (GMT +1)

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby Odd dude » October 12th, 2008, 9:48 am

OK, got it to work - but now the really strange part.

I had to set it to use two network adapters, and I had to set both to the same network card.

Why is that?

Anyway, doesn't really matter anymore, the important thing is it works.
User avatar
Odd dude
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: May 18th, 2008, 11:16 am
Location: The Netherlands (GMT +1)

Re: How do I make my VM use my wireless connection?

Unread postby Odd dude » October 14th, 2008, 11:32 am

I appear to have spoken too soon... it's not working anymore... not at all :cyclopsani:
User avatar
Odd dude
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: May 18th, 2008, 11:16 am
Location: The Netherlands (GMT +1)
Advertisement
Register to Remove


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Software Support (including Windows)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware