Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

Can I disable VM Services?

Troubleshooting issues with software, including all version of Windows.

Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby Scotty » July 13th, 2008, 7:23 am

Although VMWare does not start up with Windows, it's services do and they are slowing my start up time. Can I disable them safetly?
User avatar
Scotty
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: August 4th, 2006, 5:31 am
Location: Haggistown, Kiltland
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby MikeSwim07 » July 13th, 2008, 8:47 am

I have disabled mine for a while. I have VMware workstation and I have disabled all of its services and it works fine when I use it, very rarely. Mostly because Microsoft gave away a free copy of windows until september which I am using with M$ VPC 2007.
MikeSwim07
Regular Member
 
Posts: 4215
Joined: August 27th, 2007, 9:44 am
Location: Gone

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ndmmxiaomayi » July 13th, 2008, 9:12 am

Yeah... it has no bad side effects. Unless you're using a VM everyday...

In that case, you can use Winpatrol to delay its startup.
ndmmxiaomayi
MRU Emeritus
MRU Emeritus
 
Posts: 9708
Joined: July 17th, 2006, 9:22 am

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby Scotty » July 13th, 2008, 9:39 am

That did the trick. :D
User avatar
Scotty
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: August 4th, 2006, 5:31 am
Location: Haggistown, Kiltland

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ndmmxiaomayi » July 13th, 2008, 9:49 am

:thumbleft:
ndmmxiaomayi
MRU Emeritus
MRU Emeritus
 
Posts: 9708
Joined: July 17th, 2006, 9:22 am

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby Scotty » July 13th, 2008, 10:12 am

Umm...I think I over-did it. When I start VMWare server, it asks for details to connect to Host. I never filled anything out when i installed it, so Ive no idea what to type in.
Guess Ill have to uninstall and start over.
User avatar
Scotty
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: August 4th, 2006, 5:31 am
Location: Haggistown, Kiltland

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ndmmxiaomayi » July 13th, 2008, 10:15 am

Server?

Why do you use the Server version?

Give me a couple of minutes. I go and dig back my notes on how to configure that.
ndmmxiaomayi
MRU Emeritus
MRU Emeritus
 
Posts: 9708
Joined: July 17th, 2006, 9:22 am

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ndmmxiaomayi » July 13th, 2008, 10:18 am

Try entering in your IP address or enter in localhost.
ndmmxiaomayi
MRU Emeritus
MRU Emeritus
 
Posts: 9708
Joined: July 17th, 2006, 9:22 am

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby Scotty » July 13th, 2008, 10:44 am

Still needs a Username and password, which I never set.

I thought the Server edition was the only free version. Should I install the Workstation?

(The MS vm doesnt work for me)
User avatar
Scotty
Retired Graduate
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: August 4th, 2006, 5:31 am
Location: Haggistown, Kiltland

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ndmmxiaomayi » July 13th, 2008, 11:01 am

Player is free too. But you've to find pre-created images. I don't think MS allows pre-created Windows VM images to be posted anywhere (untrue... should be able to find them somewhere...)

Username and password is your Windows username and password.

MS VM should work... but it's very limited in terms of features.
ndmmxiaomayi
MRU Emeritus
MRU Emeritus
 
Posts: 9708
Joined: July 17th, 2006, 9:22 am

Re: Can I disable VM Services?

Unread postby ChrisRLG » July 13th, 2008, 5:03 pm

The differences between VM and VPC.

VPC is more useful if you are opening and closing regularly. As it has less issues with ram used etc.

VM is better if running for extensive periods for normal use.

So if you are using it just to test for malware, VPC may be a better option.

VPC 2007 is free - VM workstation is not.
Both require a licence code for the virtual machine to use, but as said a VPC drive for using with VPC is available for download which includes a pre activated licence for XP.

Both the VM server and MS Virtual Server are free.
ChrisRLG
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 17759
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 10:04 am
Location: Southend, Essex, UK
Advertisement
Register to Remove


Return to Software Support (including Windows)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware