Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

virus detection

MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Using plain language that anyone can understand, our community of volunteer experts will walk you through each step.

Unread postby golf1here » February 9th, 2006, 5:27 pm

Hi Rogue,

When I seached for ie.inf all that came up is an ie folder nothing with a .inf would that be the same?

Also I went to a micro soft site and they said to put the following in my trusted sites :
• http://update.microsoft.com
• http://download.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
• http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx
However when I try to put the http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx
in it says I have to remove it from another zone first. I checked the retricted zone and it is not there. Any idea what other zone they are talking about?
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Sorry I didn't think the last one posted

Unread postby golf1here » February 9th, 2006, 5:47 pm

Hi Rogue,

When I did the search for the ie.inf folder all i got was a folder called simply ie with no .inf after it. Is this the one? Also I found a Microsoft site that suggested I put these 3 sites in my trusted site zone:

• http://update.microsoft.com
• http://download.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
• http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx


I was able to put the first two sites in but when I tried to put the last site :
http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx
It says that site already exsists in another zone and to remove it from that zone first. I looked in the restricted zone and it was not there. Any idea where else it could be?

Thank you.
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 9th, 2006, 6:44 pm

Hi golf1here,

You will need to try it again with your XP CD in the CD drive bay. :oops:

If it still won't work let’s go this route.

Enable the Show Hidden Folders option, like this:
Click Start.
Open My Computer.
Select the Tools menu and click Folder Options.
Select the View Tab. Under the Hidden files and folders heading select Show hidden files and folders.
Uncheck the Hide protected operating system files (recommended) option.
Click Yes to confirm.
Click OK.
==========

Using Windows Explore by right-clicking the Start button and left clicking. Explore navigate to and find the following files:

C:\windows\inf\ie.inf

C:\windows\servicepackfiles\i386\ie.inf <<<<let me know if it is in here but don’t install from it.

• Right click the ie.inf file and click Install on the context menu.
• Reboot the computer when the file copy process is complete.

Rogue
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby golf1here » February 9th, 2006, 7:31 pm

Hi Rogue,
The closest thing in Windows/inf is ie.PNF also I don't se the service pack files anywhere.

Do I need to put the check back on hide protected files?
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 9th, 2006, 11:51 pm

Hi golf1here,

The closest thing in Windows/inf is ie.PNF also I don't se the service pack files anywhere.

OK. The file may be in the updates we are trying to get to.

Do I need to put the check back on hide protected files?

Not at this time we may have to go back searching later.

I looked in the restricted zone and it was not there. Any idea where else it could be?

Yes there is a 5th zone. The average user never needs to go there.

Deldomains is supposed to reset all your zones and ranges.
After running try to go to the update link or add the link to your trusted zone.

Download this file to your desktop.
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/DelDomains.inf

Right-click on the deldomains.inf file and select 'Install'

Once it is finished your Zones should be reset.

Note, if you use SpywareBlaster and/or IE/Spyads, it will be necessary to re-install the protection both afford. For SpywareBlaster, run the program and re-protect all items. For IE/Spyads, run the batch file and reinstall the protection.

Rogue
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby golf1here » February 10th, 2006, 1:08 pm

Rogue.

OK, after a installed the deldomains I went to my trusted sites and added http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx . Then when I added the other two sites I noticed that http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx had been eliminated . I tried to add it again and got the same message about it exsisting in another zone.
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 10th, 2006, 4:42 pm

Hi golf1here,

Please run the Windows Update Fix located here. Follow all the instructions and please report back how it goes.

Thanks,
Rogue
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby golf1here » February 10th, 2006, 6:58 pm

Ho Rogue,
Tried that but still having exact same problem
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 10th, 2006, 11:39 pm

Hi golf1here,

I thought everything was good but I just got a McAfee thing that says virus found. File: 9VMxQN.exe Virus Name: Malformed Archive File path:C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Owner\Local Settings\Temp Status: cannot be cleaned
Verify that the file is not write protected and try again

McAffee has a DAT update DAT Version 4686 DAT Release Date 01/31/2006 This detection covers malformed archive files that attempt to evade detection by anti-virus scan engines. Please update your AV to the current definitions, rescan, and post a log if available.

Which version of McAffee are you using? Verify the installed version. To do this, open your McAfee product, then click on Help>About.
Copy this back with your reply

:oops: :oops: :oops: These two are the same. You only need one in a trusted zone. Click on just one and see where it gets you.
• http://update.microsoft.com
• http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftup ... fault.aspx


Rogue
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby golf1here » February 13th, 2006, 3:15 pm

Hi Rogue,

When I click on them the page opens up but I still am unable to complete the download. I have contacted Microsoft and someone has started to help me from there. I will keep you pposted on our progress. Thank you.

golf
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm

Sounds good. :thumbright: I'll keep this topic open for a couple weeks.
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby golf1here » February 15th, 2006, 1:20 pm

Hi Rouge,
It seems I've got the problem fixed. Here is the e-mail I recieved from microsoft that gave me the fix. Perhaps you can help someone else with it. Thanks again for all your help.
golf

Dear Dana,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />



Thank you for taking the time to reply.



From your response, I understand that BITS failed to start and error message was received. I apologize for the inconvenience which you have experienced. Please be assured that I will work closely with you on this issue.



Also, I notice that MacAfee was running during the update process.



Before moving on, please understand that some third party programs can affect the Windows Update service. If you are running any third party applications such as Spyblocker, Internet or Web accelerators (Programs associated to boost up the Speed of the Internet connection), security or anti-virus programs (Norton, MacAfee, etc.), I recommend we temporarily disable or shut them down and then try accessing the Windows Update site later. Please be sure to enable them again when completing the update process.



After discussing with our Escalation Engineers, we suggest we perform the following steps to start the Background Intelligent Transfer Service (BITS):



Please make sure Show File Extensions at first

=============================

1. Open "My Computer", and click Tools->Folder Options and click the View tab.

2. Remove the check mark from "Hide extensions for known file types", and click OK.



Save the attachment (BITS.zip)

=============================



1. Save the attachment to your desktop.

2. Right click the BITS.ZIP file and choose Extract

3. Follow the instructions and there will be a file (BITS.reg)

4. Double click the BITS.reg file

5. Restart the computer.



After that, please restart the computer at first and Check Related Services.

=======================================================



Please make sure restart the computer.



1. Click Start, click Run and type in "services.msc" (without quotation marks); click OK.

2. Check if the following service is started.



Background Intelligent Transfer Service (BITS)



3. Double click on the service and click the Start button in the "Service status" section.



4. Click OK.



If you still encounter troubles during the process, please capture a screenshot of the error message, and send the picture file to me for research. I have attached the following steps to capture a screenshot:



1. Keep the window on the screen.

2. Press the Print Screen key (PrtScn) on your keyboard.

3. Click Start, click Run, type "mspaint", and click OK.

4. In Paint, click Paste under the Edit menu, click Save under the File menu, type a file name for the screenshot, choose JPEG as "Save as type", and click Save.

5. Send this file to my email account: v-30cali@mssupport.microsoft.com



Thank you for your cooperation.



I am looking forward to your reply.



Best Regards,
golf1here
Regular Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Unread postby Rogue » February 15th, 2006, 11:55 pm

:D Glad to hear all is well :D
User avatar
Rogue
MRU Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4782
Joined: November 3rd, 2005, 3:21 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Unread postby NonSuch » February 16th, 2006, 1:38 am

Glad we could be of assistance.

This topic is now closed. If you wish it reopened, please send us an email to 'admin at malwareremoval.com' with a link to your thread.

You can help support this site from this link :
Donations For Malware Removal

Do not bother contacting us if you are not the topic starter. A valid, working link to the closed topic is required along with the user name used. If the user name does not match the one in the thread linked, the email will be deleted.
User avatar
NonSuch
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 27302
Joined: February 23rd, 2005, 7:08 am
Location: California
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Previous

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Infected? Virus, malware, adware, ransomware, oh my!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware