Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

please help to get rid of this

MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Using plain language that anyone can understand, our community of volunteer experts will walk you through each step.

Unread postby wng_z3r0 » June 26th, 2005, 12:55 am

I KNOW what ICQ is, but malware loves to hide as legitimate names.
I see no reason for icq.exe to have all these ports open:
1069, 3670, 1069 205.188.5.228:5190 ESTABLISHED, UDP MAIN:1039 *:* 1216

and 205.188.5.228
is whois'd to an AOL account, but why should that be happening?

ANYWAYS: please search and tell me the info of icq.exe

Thanks.
wng
User avatar
wng_z3r0
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4282
Joined: March 6th, 2005, 8:22 pm
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Unread postby stranger666 » June 26th, 2005, 6:53 pm

OK, here it is (I hope that is what you meant)
Location: C:\Programs\Inet\ICQ\icq.exe
File Version: 5.5.6.3916
Company: ICQ Inc
Created: Wednesday, May 25, 2005, 6:12:25 PM
Modified: Tuesday, October 14, 2003, 1:03:50 PM
Accessed: Today, June 26, 2005, 6:47:53 PM

That should be it.... What's next?
stranger666
Regular Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: June 16th, 2005, 6:46 pm

Unread postby wng_z3r0 » June 28th, 2005, 8:18 pm

sorry for the delay :(

google doesn't like the location ICQ is running from:
http://www.google.com/search?q=C:\Programs\Inet\ICQ\icq.exe

Do you know anything about this Inet?

edit: also, when did you install ICQ on your computer?
User avatar
wng_z3r0
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4282
Joined: March 6th, 2005, 8:22 pm

Unread postby stranger666 » June 28th, 2005, 9:50 pm

Yep, the location is quite normal. I install all my programs in the Programs folder, which then gets divided into Inet, Utilities, Image etc.. So the location is fine.
The date is OK as well - I recently reinstalled the whole system, including ICQ.
So I don't think my poor internet pager was hacked by the wicked virus.
stranger666
Regular Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: June 16th, 2005, 6:46 pm

Unread postby wng_z3r0 » June 28th, 2005, 11:19 pm

ok. just checking :D
I dunno what's causing the prompts. If I were to guess, it would be kazza lite.

I will ask around... perhaps someone sees something I dont.
wng
User avatar
wng_z3r0
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4282
Joined: March 6th, 2005, 8:22 pm

Unread postby stranger666 » June 28th, 2005, 11:36 pm

Doubtful. I've been using Kazaa for a long time, never had a problem. And all this stuff started happenning right after I visited some sites looking for cracks - so it is a virus (or spyware), not a program, that causing all this to happen.
stranger666
Regular Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: June 16th, 2005, 6:46 pm
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Previous

Return to Infected? Virus, malware, adware, ransomware, oh my!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware