Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

I have tapeG22 malware

MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Using plain language that anyone can understand, our community of volunteer experts will walk you through each step.

I have tapeG22 malware

Unread postby StashSoup » September 13th, 2006, 4:07 pm

I have tapeG22 malware at an epidemic level.
I have an old machine with Windows ME.
I cannot access anything on it. Once it boots into windows, all of the system resources are being used , by the tapeG22 malware I assume.
But I can't open my start menu or anything.
I have tried to get into DOS, but I can't.
I have PrevX1 on a CD ready to go, but I can't get it installed without an eror message saying something to the effect that all of my system resources are used up.
Is there a way for me to get to a DOS prompt to load PrevX1 wihtout going through MS Windows ME?
I am writing to you from a MAC computer thaqt is about 10 years old running OS 9.2

Please HELP!!!

Dave
StashSoup
Active Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: September 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Unread postby Nellie2 » September 15th, 2006, 6:21 pm

I'm sorry that there has been a delay in answering your query, have you tried using a boot disk to get into dos?
User avatar
Nellie2
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 8737
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 5:01 pm
Location: UK

Yes I have

Unread postby StashSoup » September 19th, 2006, 2:29 pm

Yes I made a boot disk from a Windows XP machine.
I need to load Anti-Virus software from a CD, but I cannot access the CD drive in safe mode. And I can't use any programs when I boot regularly, beccause the virus uses all of my resources instantly.

Please HELP!!!
StashSoup
Active Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: September 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm

ALSO

Unread postby StashSoup » September 19th, 2006, 3:05 pm

By the way, I have accessed the drive while booting from a floppy. I tried to install the program and I got an error message saying that I neded to be in Win32. Whatever that means.
StashSoup
Active Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: September 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm

Unread postby Nellie2 » September 19th, 2006, 3:58 pm

Could you tell me exactly what the error message said?
User avatar
Nellie2
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 8737
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 5:01 pm
Location: UK

no

Unread postby StashSoup » September 20th, 2006, 10:56 am

I think it said something about being in the wrong mode. I was using an ERD at the time.
Anyways, I am trying a different method. Right now I'm burning Knoppix to CD. I'm going to boot with that and get the software I need onto the harddrive and then reboot into safe mode and install the antivirus. Do you think that will work?
StashSoup
Active Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: September 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm

Unread postby Nellie2 » September 20th, 2006, 4:56 pm

Perhaps something like the Ultimate Boot CD might be a little more useful.

It's up to you though, let me know how you get on
Last edited by Nellie2 on September 25th, 2006, 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nellie2
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 8737
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 5:01 pm
Location: UK

thx

Unread postby StashSoup » September 25th, 2006, 2:19 pm

I am currently trying to use Knoppix. It has a cd burning utility, so I can save my data and rebuild my comp. I'm having a hard time getting my data off of the hard drive though. Any suggestions?
StashSoup
Active Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: September 13th, 2006, 3:46 pm

Unread postby Nellie2 » September 25th, 2006, 3:59 pm

If you have a spare hdd, you could hook it up as a slave and then use the xxcopy facility in the Ulitimate Boot CD to copy over all the files... there are quite a few utilities on that CD including anti virus scanners that can be run from Dos
User avatar
Nellie2
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 8737
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 5:01 pm
Location: UK

Unread postby Nellie2 » November 5th, 2006, 11:43 am

This topic is now closed due to inactivity. If you wish it reopened, please send us an email to 'admin at malwareremoval.com' with a link to your thread.

You can help support this site from this link :
Donations For Malware Removal

Do not bother contacting us if you are not the topic starter. A valid, working link to the closed topic is required along with the user name used. If the user name does not match the one in the thread linked, the email will be deleted.
User avatar
Nellie2
Administrator Emeritus
 
Posts: 8737
Joined: December 16th, 2004, 5:01 pm
Location: UK
Advertisement
Register to Remove


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Infected? Virus, malware, adware, ransomware, oh my!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 67 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware