Welcome to MalwareRemoval.com,
What if we told you that you could get malware removal help from experts, and that it was 100% free? MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Our help, and the tools we use are always 100% free. No hidden catch. We simply enjoy helping others. You enjoy a clean, safe computer.

Malware Removal Instructions

help !hijacked by errorplace.com

MalwareRemoval.com provides free support for people with infected computers. Using plain language that anyone can understand, our community of volunteer experts will walk you through each step.

Unread postby 'KotaGuy » August 19th, 2006, 8:26 pm

Thanks for the logs... did you ever run Blacklight? If so can you post the log.

If not... please run it then post the log please. If it finds something... don't rename it yet... just post the log.

Thanks!
User avatar
'KotaGuy
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 12472
Joined: April 7th, 2005, 7:06 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada
Advertisement
Register to Remove

blacklight

Unread postby icethermal » August 20th, 2006, 10:31 am

ran blacklight 2x found 0 items.
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Unread postby 'KotaGuy » August 20th, 2006, 12:24 pm

OK... good!

Your log is clean! Image

How is the PC behaving now?
User avatar
'KotaGuy
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 12472
Joined: April 7th, 2005, 7:06 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

no internet

Unread postby icethermal » August 22nd, 2006, 9:23 pm

sorry for the delay,;The pc connects to the wireless network but not to the internet. When the options are set to obtain ip automatically , the connection window displays limited or no connectivity w/ good signal strength. When I enter the IP, Gateway, DNS, connection suffix, manually , the connection shows no error or problem but no web.

any ideas?

Thanks.
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Unread postby 'KotaGuy » August 22nd, 2006, 11:54 pm

Click Start>Run type in cmd and hit Enter.

From the command prompt... type in ping http://www.malwareremoval.com and hit Enter.

Take note of the results.

Then type in ping 82.165.180.19 and hit Enter.

Let me know the results of both pings please.
User avatar
'KotaGuy
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 12472
Joined: April 7th, 2005, 7:06 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

got a reply

Unread postby icethermal » August 23rd, 2006, 10:33 pm

for http://www.malwareremoval.com

"ping request could not find host"

For ping 82.165.180.19

sent 4 , recieved 4

is that good? bad?

thanks
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Unread postby 'KotaGuy » August 23rd, 2006, 11:17 pm

Sounds like a DNS resolution issue as pinging the IP worked but not the domain name.

Try this for me please...

Click Start>Run type in cmd and hit Enter.

From the command prompt type in ipconfig /flushdns and hit enter.

Then type in ipconfig /release and hit Enter.

Then type in ipconfig /renew and hit Enter.

Note: there are spaces in between ipconfig and the switches(/flushdns, /release, /renew)

Then see if you can ping http://www.malwareremoval.com

Let me know how that goes.
User avatar
'KotaGuy
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 12472
Joined: April 7th, 2005, 7:06 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

trouble w/ renew

Unread postby icethermal » August 26th, 2006, 9:06 am

Prior commands worked well however,

when I tried the ipconfig /renew , I received the following response:

"an error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Connection 4:The requested service provided could not be loaded or initialized"
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Unread postby 'KotaGuy » August 26th, 2006, 12:21 pm

Is your Router set up for DHCP handling? That being is it set up to provide IP addresses... sounds like your system isn't getting a proper IP address. This could because the router itself isn't receiving an external IP from your ISP or isn't providing an internal IP to your computer.

Do you know how to check that?
User avatar
'KotaGuy
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 12472
Joined: April 7th, 2005, 7:06 pm
Location: Alberta, Canada

was out of town

Unread postby icethermal » August 30th, 2006, 12:18 pm

Sorry , i was out of town.

No I do not know how to determine that.

I was on the phone w/ linksys tech support and tried uninstalling the wireless adapter and reinstalling the original software / drivers etc. with no results. When I try to allow the system to repair the connection I get an error message " no connectivity" and in the details it shows an ip address for this computer which is nothing like my intranet ip, no gateway address, no dns.

Is it possible that my adapter is defective?

Tnaks for you help.
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Wireless connection No.

Unread postby icethermal » August 30th, 2006, 12:20 pm

I'm noticing that as I try to get this connection to work it seems to be creating new connections i.e now my computer says:
"Wireless Connection 6"

Is that normal?
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

other computers on this network

Unread postby icethermal » August 30th, 2006, 12:23 pm

The other computers on this network are working fine. (two wireless laptops and one desktop directly wired to the linksys router )
icethermal
Regular Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 11:57 pm
Location: florida

Unread postby Nick-YF19 » September 5th, 2006, 4:57 pm

Sorry, 'Kota had something come up.

Since other computers are working from the router/access point, then that should be working fine. They all are connected to the same router that the one you are having trouble is trying to connect to, right?

Have you tried connecting the computer directly to the router with a cable? Make sure you reboot the computer after you connect the cable.
User avatar
Nick-YF19
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4036
Joined: May 17th, 2005, 12:42 am
Location: California

Unread postby Nick-YF19 » September 28th, 2006, 2:32 am

While we appreciate that you may be busy, it has been 10 days or more since we heard from you.

Infections can change and fresh instructions will now need to be given. This topic is now closed, if you still require assistance then please start a new topic in the Malware Removal Forum

If you wish this topic reopened, please send us an email to 'admin at malwareremoval.com' with a link to your thread.

You can help support this site from this link :
Donations For Malware Removal

Do not bother contacting us if you are not the topic starter. A valid,
working link to the closed topic is required along with the user name used.
If the user name does not match the one in the thread linked, the email will be deleted.
User avatar
Nick-YF19
Admin/Teacher Emeritus
 
Posts: 4036
Joined: May 17th, 2005, 12:42 am
Location: California
Advertisement
Register to Remove

Previous

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to Infected? Virus, malware, adware, ransomware, oh my!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests

Contact us:

Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. Register to remove all ads. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Member site: UNITE Against Malware